Prikazani su postovi s oznakom monastery. Prikaži sve postove
Prikazani su postovi s oznakom monastery. Prikaži sve postove

četvrtak, 21. prosinca 2017.

The monastery in Žitomislići



In the valley on the left bank of Neretva, on the highway towards the Adriatic Sea, we find the Žitomislići-monastery and its church. 

There are several proofs found that the village Žitomislići existed in pre-historic time, and example of these are the ruins of a basilica and stones with various engraved patterns. Several churches and monasteries were re-established in the 16th and 17th century, and one of them was the monastery in Žitomislići (1602/03). The head master in the monastery was Milisan Hrabren, but he did not live long enough to see the full restoration of the monastery.
From the middle of the 19th century, the monastery improved its economic, cultural and educational status. This led to the establishment of the Serbian national school and the Spiritual School in the village.
By the looking at the architectural aspects, the church of monastery is similar to the monasteries in Zavala and Pljevlji.
All the valuable documents from the Ottoman period, sacred items and the entire library were destroyed in a fire that took place in the monastery.
The place was recognized as a historical monument after the Second World War, but it was unfortunately totally destroyed during the recent war. The restoration is in progress, and the monastery is once again an active, spiritual centre.

srijeda, 22. studenoga 2017.

The Franciscan Monastery – The Catholic Church in Mostar



We have proofs that already in 1533 there existed a Franciscan monastery at Zahum.
But the first real Catholic Church, shaped as a basilica, was built at Podhum in 1866. The first sermon was organized on March 6th, the same year. The Catholic Church was called  The Church of Sts Peter and Paul, and was one of the last buildings constructed in the Ottoman period.

The diocese residence was opened at Vukodol in 1847, and from that time Mostar became the seat of the Catholic bishops.
The Catholics had to pretend and dress up so they did not get noticeable, so there existed periods when they wore clothes like the Turks, and sometimes also a “fes” (national hat of Ottomans).
A Franciscan library was founded next to the church, which possesses a great number of works. There is also the Franciscan collection of archives, consisting of 536 handwritings in various languages, from Oriental languages, to Latin, Croatian and Serbo-Croatian.
A new monastery was also built in 1894, and was called “the most solid building in Mostar”. The Catholic Church was entirely destroyed during the recent war, but is now completely restored.

četvrtak, 9. studenoga 2017.

The monastery on the island Šćit



The restoration of the old Rama monastery on Šćit has started. The monastery has been built 150 years ago, and due to its age, it has caved in 15 years ago. The Franciscans have been mentioned for the first time in 1557, when the monastery has been burnt by the Turkish army together with the church.
 Later it has been burnt and restored for several times. In 1857. a new monastery bu­ilding has been built on the founda­tions of the old monastery, after the Franciscans came back to this area.
The building of the Šćit Monastery is probably one of the oldest mo­nastery buildings in BiH. There are other monasteries that are older as institutions, but this is the only bu­ilding that represents the example of the Bosnian architecture.
After its restoration, the monastery will have the same appearance as it did 150 years ago, but it will have a diffe­rent use. The outside of the building will be plastered, covered in wooden boards, with characteristic windows called demiri (the same ones that it used to have). The ground floor will be a museum of the items over 300 years old. We will also be able to find traditionally dressed dolls there. There will also be some space for the characteristic flora and fauna of this region.
The board for the protec­tion of the national monuments in Bosnia and Herzegovina has proc­laimed the old monastery building, the new building, and the church next to it, as a national monument. This shows the extreme value of this place. The house of peace next to the Franciscan monastery has a gallery of paintings, a library and an ethno­graphic collection.